Asking aint getting.

Happy Tuesday,

Somehow it seems I am being buried under a pile of small-talk text conversations eliciting unpromising potential dates. Somehow? Oh, right. I signed up for this. It’s amazing how one night, hunched over your a plate of tofu kale stir-fry and your work laptop, which should only be used for work purposes, you can feel like the belle of the ball, impressing the Tarleton twins and everyone else who has rated you at least 4/5 stars with your biting wit and your seeming easy-going, relatableness, and the next day you are wondering why the hell you gave your phone number to so many OkPossibles that will likely turn into OkAnnoyances or OkForThreeWeeks at best. My recent troubles are largely due to the fact that I have been out of town the past few weekends making scheduling with two OkPossibles difficult, and lengthening the Texting Before Actually Meeting Up Period (TBAMUP), directly decreasing each candidate’s Interest Liz Has in Meeting You (ILHMY) level.

As promised, I will fill you in on how things transpired with Wells after I asked him if he wanted to meet up Tuesday night in Koreatown. He texted back about an hour later saying that he didn’t know if he was free Tuesday night but would find out when his work schedule was posted over the weekend. I left it at that. He then texted me three hours later at 6:50 pm, “I have tonight off but that’s probably too short of notice.” Lack of emphasis and enthusiasm his own. First off, Wells lives in Los Feliz, basically on the other side of the world, and second of all, did he actually think that I was going to drop everything to go meet him somewhere after over a month of unsubstantial back and forward texting? Not so much. I didn’t respond. Tonight was my proposed night to hang out. I have no idea if he is free or if he’ll make contact but I am officially scrapping this Tinderance.

On project End Things With PP, I’ve done well! He texted me Thursday night to see if he could come over and I turned him down. I might have failed to mention that the last time PP was over, the night before Halloween, he had to get dropped off at my apartment because he doesn’t have a car. He told me his brother would be dropping him off, but after waving at his car as he got out and it turned around to exit my complex he informed me that his mom had been in the car as well. Tubular. In cutting ties with PP I scrapped my usual delayed response and ‘make excuses every time he tries to set a date to hang out until he finally gets the message’ bit and went with a more direct tactic that worked pretty well. He has since Facebook friended me, but there has been no other contact.  Also received a Fbook message from my very first OkConnection* who I saw for about two months a year ago informing me that he had just moved to Culver. Under the positive influence of some wise friends I realized that the slight ego boost in receiving attention from OkOriginal wouldn’t merit the complications and I turned down his offer to hang out.

Another first tomorrow night. This will be with the aforementioned fellow Culver Citizen. He composes film scores aaaaaand must have shared something else with me about himself that a quick skimming of our OkC convo will illuminate. Hasta pronto.

*Upon rereading this post I must correct an error. OkOriginal was my first OkC date in America. We’ll see if any situation ever merits my diving into the Madrid archives.

Leave a comment