Saturday night – an archetype of singlehood.

As you can all see by the image below I have been welcomed back to OkC with open arms. The prodigal son, who not five minutes after reactivating (at 5:44 pm because I have better things to do than be seen logged onto OkC after 8 pm on a Saturday, duhhhh) was propositioned by guitar_man,  a 54-year-old, 23% match who detailed how he was probably more successful and would be a better influence on my life than guys my age. Maybe guitar_man,  who is ‘6’6” and in great shape’ is onto something. Things haven’t quite panned out with the under 30s so far.

The cause of this return to OkC, which has repeatedly failed to perform in the past? Despite working 60 hour weeks in the new job and thinking I hadn’t the time nor the need to date, I find myself home alone on a rainy Saturday night, eating hazelnut marscapone ice cream recently purchased from a Ralph’s that claimed to have a copy of Silver Linings Playbook for rent at Redbox- but didn’t- where I saw an ex-coworker who I may have had a very G rated, but nonetheless affecting, dream about, buying home goods with his girlfriend at the next checkout over- and I feel like a change might be in order. Have also thrown Moulin Rouge on in the background just to heighten the artistic/pathetic effect of this post. 

I confess that I held out on you guys a bit. Plan B and I went on a third date and then things tapered off before he left to visit family for Christmas. Also had January dates with two guys I met in the great big world, but nothing to write home about. So, after beseeching my coworkers to introduce me to their hot cousins (everyone has at least one) and getting nowhere, I’m back in the online game. Looks like OkC has a fresh pool of meat(mixed metaphors?)to recommend, including a few girls. Maybe once your OkC profile’s lifetime eclipses the length of your longest relationship 10 times over, the Harvard math guys start to subtly suggest that you become more open minded about the gender of who you’ll consider dating.

Guitar_man excluded, there are three OkProspects who have piqued my interest thus far. One has asked me to coffee. Code name pending. Heeeeeerrrre we go!

Leave a comment